Skip to content

Book Review: How To Get Divorced By 30

March 20, 2010

It can’t possibly be a good sign when you tell your parents you are getting divorced and your father’s reaction is, “it’s very sad when a five-year marriage only lasts two and a half years.” That is exactly how Sascha Rothchild’s father reacted, and how her memoir, How to Get Divorced by 30: My Misguided Attempt at a Starter Marriage, opens.

The memoir takes us through the 30 steps to getting divorced by 30, including Sascha’s early relationships and upbringing. Sometimes funny, sometimes heartbreaking, but always honest, I found myself immediately immersed in Sascha’s world. Her tone throughout the book was friendly and open, almost like I was out to lunch with an old friend catching up on the last 10 years.

As a lover of memoirs, and avid observer of society and culture, this book was right up my alley. It was a quick read, I finished it in an evening, and kept my attention, even through the Real Housewives of Orange County (no small feat). Most women will recognize some part of Sascha’s story as relating to their own. I recommend this book to anyone looking for a good, light read. I give it a 9/10.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    March 20, 2010 2:05 pm

    Can I borrow?

  2. March 20, 2010 3:39 pm

    Sounds very interesting!

  3. March 20, 2010 9:56 pm

    ooo0o0o0o0 cant wait to read this one!!

  4. March 22, 2010 4:23 pm

    Julie-
    Come on down and grab it whenever you are ready, I’m sure you’ll have it finished in a few hours.

Leave a Reply

